PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here into tube electronics?

Unobtainium
12th April 2010, 07:03 PM
I'm from the old school, I suppose. I like vintage tube gear, amps, tuners, receivers, from the golden age of audio, namely the 1950's to early 60's. I prefer spinning vinyl on my Thorens TD124 turntable through my Fisher 800C tube receiver. I don't care for digital, or the sound of CD's. They seems to lack the warmth of analog music reproduction. Anyways, just curious if there are other tube-a-holics on this forum.

iOWNme
12th April 2010, 07:24 PM
Im with you...

Im a musician and use tube amps. decade old Mesa stuff. I actually found a local place that sells vintage tubes used. Some incredibly priced stuff. I have some tube mic pre's i have swapped tubes in, just to mess with different sounds.

But there is no doubt that digital audio is POOP.

Listen to an analog record like Jimi Hendrix, Beatles, Floyd. There is no amount of production in the digital world today (or talent) that can duplicate the warmth they were able to produce. It is outstanding.

I was born a bit late for records, (75') so i never really got to enjoy them. I grew up with cassette tape! Which in hindsight probably sounded better than current cd's....LOL

Long live tubes!

Dave Thomas
12th April 2010, 08:03 PM
I sure wish the audiophile community would drop the whole tube avenue. I mean why matched pairs of 300Bs should cost close to 1200 bucks is beyond me.

Leave it to audiophiles to make something so simple and cheap, exotic and expensive.

All things equal, I like tubes in my finals, since I have a bit of breathing room, oh and I'm talking radio not audio amps.

Still getting around to one day building a guitar amp out of a 6146s.

Heh.

Mouse
12th April 2010, 08:14 PM