PDA

View Full Version : The destruction of local food producers

Nomen luni
16th April 2010, 03:20 PM
X posted from another site with the author's permission. I think it's an important issue...

============================

Fellow LATOCER's,

I am attaching links here in Financial even 'tho it may seem that the Food thread is more appropriate.
This is about control, money and power.
Even if you don't farm , you still eat and this will affect you - have no doubt.

As a local producer of retail meat, we are about to be put out of business.
There is a USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service re-interpretation of a decade old law that will enact many fees and multiple tests on meat products going thru small meat lockers; the kind that rural communities and independent farmers depend upon.

If this rule is put into effect, many local lockers will go under.

As a beef producer, I will not be able to sell you my product as cuts, only as wholesale quarters or halves.
If all the lockers go out of business, I won't even be able to do that.You will be left buying your meat only from the few ( under 5) companies that already control 90% of the meat market.

Make no mistake; you will have few choices left to you as to where you buy your meat and from whom.

If you have not already seen Food, INC, I beg you to see it.
I beg you to become involved in a food system already under massive monopoly manipulation.

We must not allow our independent, local food system be sacrificed at the feet of behemoth companies that will dictate what you eat and what you pay.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask me.
If you know small farmers, alert them to this.
Contact your Federal reps (yeah, I know...BUT CALL!)

Don't let your food system be taken away from you.

Thank you for taking action,

yours,
motherearth

http://www.farm-news.com/page/content.detail/id/501134/Small-meat-plants-feel-threatened-by-USDA-s-new-regs.html?nav=5005