PDA

View Full Version : 44 years old, 20 lbs heavy = Want to walk 55 miles in 18 hours within 2 months

ruprick
25th April 2010, 10:43 AM
This is an posting in process - sit tight for my edits to finish it.

Most everyone here knows me from GIM.

I just turned 44. I've bee 20 - 30 lbs too heavy for the past 15 years.....like most, it has been building over time.....I've never dieted....just eat whatever and as much as I want my entire life.

For the past few months - I really have not been dieting - just eating less.....and amazingly in about 1 month you end up eating a bunch less.

I graduated HS in top physical shape of just under 200 lbs....I'm about 5'9" perhaps 5'10" and a very stout/stocky build - big legs, arms, etc. - this will give you an idea where my ideal size/weight is compared to where I am right now.

I'm pretty active outdoors....but no honest exercise.

I peaked on weight around the start of the year at 227 lbs.....honest guess - 35lbs perhaps ever 40 over ideal weight. In the past few months - no real diet effort....I'm at 205 right now....and looking in the mirror - I can't see that I'm any lighter....my fat was spread all over the place...with extra on belly and man-boobs.

The next 20 lbs will be very easy to see....at 185 lbs, I'd be pretty light as I still have some big arms and legs with muscle.

Anyway - I'm looking for advise on if it is feasible to walk about 55 miles within the next 2 months. I currently do not walk at all. I did 2 miles the other morning at a 4 mph pace....this looks to be no real issue......but I'll need to get into good enough shape to walk 55 miles.

I plan on doing it around the longest day of the year to have maximum daylight. I'm in Michigan. End of June/early July I'll have just about 18 hrs of light.....I can leave my place in the dark at 3:30AM....and it gets solid dark by about 10:30PM.....thats a 19 hr window to cover 55 miles.