PDA

View Full Version : Any Kayakers around these parts?

big country
18th May 2010, 12:54 PM
My wife and I just bought a couple of new kayaks last night. We're total newbies to this, but I want to have yet another physical exercise activity for us to do this summer. We're mostly going to use them for lake fishing, but might take them down a few rivers here in WV with class II-III rapids. (I'd scout them first to make sure the kayak and myself are up to it!)

Dick's Sporting Goods has some killer sales on kayaks and canoes right now, I bought a Future Beach Trophy 126
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/maverick2003/IMG_0509.jpg

and my wife got a Future Beach Fusion 10
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/maverick2003/IMG_0510.jpg

The trophy set us back $299, and the Fusion $229. The Trophy is listed on Dicks website for $549, so I dont know what that is all about... Looking forward to filling the freezer with some tasty bluegill and bass.

MNeagle
18th May 2010, 12:58 PM
Love kayaking. Best thing you can learn is how to roll it, and of course, escape. Take lessons!

cigarlover
18th May 2010, 01:02 PM
I tried it for the first time last year in a state park north of Orlando. Had a blast even with the fear of gators in the water.

k-os
18th May 2010, 01:06 PM
I am jealous. Or maybe inspired . . .

I love kayaking, but I'd rather do it in the winter time here. I can drop into an ocean-access canal a mere acre away from me. Then it's only 10 or so miles to the ocean . . . oh boy.

I really should get one. Were those prices including the paddles?

big country
18th May 2010, 01:09 PM
no, We bought paddles for $39 each, plus Obrien Neoprene life vests for $99, buy one get one free (so basically $50)

We were out of the store with both kayaks, 2 paddles, 2 NICE life jackets, and both of our fishing licenses including trout stamps for $793

Since they're only 10' kayaks they easily fit in the bed of my pickup, tailgate down (S-10 w/ 7' bed)