PDA

View Full Version : Handgun questions....

iOWNme
16th June 2010, 05:43 AM
Hey guys,

I own a couple weapons already, and am looking for a handgun for my fiance. I am not a pro when it comes to buying guns. It has been a long time.

Basically looking for something small and compact, 9mm or so, and fairly light. Any suggestions?

Also, what name brands should i stay away from?

Thanks!

NOOB
16th June 2010, 06:30 AM
Is your fiance experienced with firearms. My go to answer is always a small revolver for folks not into guns. Hell, I carry one and I am into guns.

iOWNme
16th June 2010, 07:16 AM
Is your fiance experienced with firearms. My go to answer is always a small revolver for folks not into guns. Hell, I carry one and I am into guns.

No she is not experienced. Thats why i would like some feedback from people, before we go check some out. Then off to the local firing range so she can get comfortable with her new weapon.

Any specific maker/model? Something reliable obviously and hopefully affordable.... $300-$500 range or so?

Thanks again

hoarder
16th June 2010, 07:16 AM
Ditto on the revolver. A simple, reliable 38 special like a S+W J frame or a Ruger SP 101.

Avoid the real super lightweight ones unless you are certain she can handle the extra recoil.

iOWNme
16th June 2010, 07:18 AM
Ditto on the revolver. A simple, reliable 38 special like a S+W J frame or a Ruger SP 101.

Avoid the real super lightweight ones unless you are certain she can handle the extra recoil.

Very good point on the light v recoil. Thanks for that input.

I do like revolvers, although i have never owned one. I wasnt even considering one, but i am checking out what you posted,,,,...

NOOB
16th June 2010, 08:48 AM
I carry a smith but for less money a taurus would be ok. The advantages are there is no thought process involved. Pull weapon ,point and squeeze trigger. No bang? Squeeze trigger again. No tap rack drill, no wondering is there one in the chamber etc.