PDA

View Full Version : Tactical pistol aiming

Awoke
23rd June 2010, 06:37 PM
OK, so I have always shot with my right eye open and my left eye closed. I have no trouble shooting like this, although I admit I am a noob and a very slow shot.

A friend of mine is in IDPA, and I have some other friends in IPSC as well. The IPSC guys shoot with one eye.

My IDPA friend said that I should learn to shoot with both eyes open. He says in a combat situation, you're not going to want to close one eye, and it pays to practice realisticly.
So I can hope and worked on sighting with two eyes, and man, I'm hopeless.

He said explicitly that you should focus your vision directly on the sight, and use peripheral vision to place your sights over the target. The problem with this technique is that because you have both eyes open and you're focused on the sight which is close to you, you see double of everthing like you're cross-eyed, then you (I) have to seriously focus to make sure that you have the center sight over the target on the right hand side (In my case, shooting right handed with my right eye lined up)

He told me that he can't even shoot with only one eye. He also warned me that it will take some time and adjustment to get used to it, but I am seriously struggling with it.

HAHA! Trying it at a range was mission impossible, becuase there are over 12 lanes side by side, then you are seeing everything cross-eyed, and the targets all blend in with each other.

So then I came home and practiced with a Sig 226 Airsoft replica, and I still was screwed beyond ranges of 10 yards.

I have put in hours trying to sight like this, and made very little progress.
Have you guys ever heard of this? Is he on, or is he off? I mean, if this is a true tactical method, I will put in whatever time it takes to master it, but he is the first to have told me this.

Your thoughts please?

Heimdhal
23rd June 2010, 07:59 PM
squint your left eye slightly , focus on your front sight ;)

EDIT: