PDA

View Full Version : Where to buy local?

iOWNme
13th July 2010, 07:38 AM
I have been trying to find a local place to me to buy small amounts of gold/silver coins. Maybe a couple hundred dollars worth, now and again.

All the places i find online, are 'bullion' dealers who have minimum amounts, like 10oz of gold, etc. Im sure there are a lot of places, but i must not be searching the correct terms. I live in a very big city, and I want to find a shop i can walk into, look around, ask questions and make some purchases. This way i can learn as i go, and thats what i need the most. I am fairly new to this, so i need to find a place that is reputable to begin with, so i can get my feet wet...

Is there some term to search for other than 'coin shop', 'gold silver coins', etc.....

Any help would be appreciated!

PEACE

MNeagle
13th July 2010, 07:56 AM
I would check the old fashioned yellow pages too. Not everyone is internet savvy, esp. old-timer dealers.

I'd also find coin shows in the area, & start collecting business cards of dealers. Ask at pawn shops maybe? Listings on Craig's List? Want ads, buy/sell section/ in the papers?

Just a few thoughts off the top of my head. Good luck.

SLV^GLD
13th July 2010, 08:01 AM
If you live in a very large city you might consider letting the forum know as there are likely other members in your city. Please don't construe this as ploy to garner information on you as I am not doing so and I, myself, have never directly stated the city I live in despite it being largish. I don't mind letting people know what other larger cities I am close to, however.

Finding coinshops in and around my area is extremely simple so I am confused as to how to not do it. You ever drive around? You ever walk down streets and pay attention to what's around you? Ever search your city or the nearest metropolis for "coin show"?