PDA

View Full Version : Shortwave radio

AndreaGail
24th November 2010, 06:07 PM
I've been thinking of purchasing a medium-priced radio to listen to and possibly in the future get a license for broadcast

but i have no prior experience with them

any advice on brands or just any great info on the subject, i'm all ears :)

thanks

Glass
24th November 2010, 06:14 PM
Ok do you want to listen to global news broadcasts on shortwave or are you thinking about HAM/Amateur radio?

AndreaGail
24th November 2010, 06:24 PM
Ok do you want to listen to global news broadcasts on shortwave or are you thinking about HAM/Amateur radio?

i guess more of ham/amateur radio

Dogman
24th November 2010, 06:37 PM
Most all of the big three, Icom, yaesu, and kenwood have the ham bands plus general coverage I am fond of kenwood and yaesu myself. It really depends on what you want to do. I like cruising the international broadcast bands, to hear the other perspectives that may not be said here.
One nice thing about a transceiver is they hold their value very well.

Hillbilly
24th November 2010, 06:43 PM
I think a 10 Meter radio will be really good for emergency because a lot of truckers are running 10 meter rigs now. They really get out a long ways and lots of people have them and if the shtf truckers are usually right in the middle of it. You can get the General Lee 10 meter mobile rig and with just a few snips get it to run on the 11 meter cb band as well.

check it out

http://cbworldinformer.com/200110/general_lee_review.htm

palani
24th November 2010, 06:46 PM
Suggest looking up 'HAMFEST CALENDAR" on google and spend the $6 they generally charge to see what is available.

I guarantee everyone you meet there will have an opinion.

Glass
24th November 2010, 07:14 PM
There are 3 main brands of HAM radio. Kenwood, Icom and Yaesu (Vertex). There are a couple of others but the $$ can be very high.

I think I listed the brands in order of $ you can expect to pay as well.