PDA

View Full Version : Leather Craft?

Libertytree
17th December 2010, 02:21 PM
I've been thinking about some different skills that might come in handy down the road and that I think I would also enjoy teaching myself and learning now. The one I've come up with is leather craft as I've always appreciated good leather made articles and am a pretty crafty kinda guy as well. There's also a friend of mine that could help me out with this too and he's an expert.

My questions are....Do ya think leather work will be a viable and needed skill in the future/post SHTF? Are there some similar skills I'm overlooking? Input?

MNeagle
17th December 2010, 02:27 PM
If you expand it to make/repair leather shoes, I think it would invaluable!

Heimdhal
17th December 2010, 02:28 PM
Cant go wrong with leather crafting. I can make an untold number of things that come in handy for daily life out of leather. Its expensive to do it now, but in SHTF will come in very handy indeed. And while Im no expert and the things I make may not look like top of the line, the function well and do their job.

Leather is one of those extremely robust and versatile materials that have applications almost anywhere, especialy in a homestead style situation.

My suggesting to you is if you're inerested, get a side of veg tan leather and some basic tools like a strap cutter, awls for finishing edges and sewing awls/needles and just start practicing making things like pouches, ruck sacks, limb protection covers (like bracers). Its fun as hell, but it is addicting, watch out!

Book
17th December 2010, 02:29 PM
http://www.specopsbrand.com/images/products/LGaccstrap_1.jpg

There is a reason why leather is not used much anymore.

:)

Dogman
17th December 2010, 02:34 PM
If you expand it to make/repair leather shoes, I think it would invaluable!

Bingo woman!

Plus having the ability to make other things out of it. the sky is the limit. just look now what
is offered.