PDA

View Full Version : OK, school me on HAM radios that can broadcast

General of Darkness
22nd December 2010, 11:23 AM
Since I'm working from home today, I've been able to post more and read more on GSUS.

Here's what I've noticed. We are completely unprepared for a .gov shut down of "standard" communications. Being that I work in the IT field I know for a fact that it's duable, it might take time, i.e. court orders etc, or there might be an agreement and it just happens.

After viewing Ponce's thread on the subject I thought I'd place some requirements, and I don't even know if this exists.

Here would be my requirements, and I'm not even sure if this is enough

1 - Am/Fm Radio
2 - HAM frequencies - 100's of miles
3 - The ability to broadcast - 100's miles
4 - Portable
5 - Under 20 lbs

gunDriller
22nd December 2010, 11:42 AM
QST magazine.
http://www.arrl.org/qst

they're the magazine for the amateur radio club. comes out once a month.

lots of how-to articles, plus more advanced articles about EMI shielding, interference. most of the hams i've known were also electrical engineers.

Nuts n Volts, if you can find it, to buy gear -
http://www.nutsvolts.com/

by "it" i mean the print magazine. loads of ads by hams. you used to be able to get them at surplus electronics stores.

speaking of surplus electronics stores -
Halted
http://www.halted.com/

Alltronics
http://www.alltronics.com/

Wierd Stuff Warehouse
http://www.weirdstuff.com/

they sell parts and complete radios. also, lots of the customers & people who work there are hams.

Dogman
22nd December 2010, 11:49 AM
Since I'm working from home today, I've been able to post more and read more on GSUS.

Here's what I've noticed. We are completely unprepared for a .gov shut down of "standard" communications. Being that I work in the IT field I know for a fact that it's duable, it might take time, i.e. court orders etc, or there might be an agreement and it just happens.