PDA

View Full Version : Should I invest in a 1kg bar of copper?

Robert
15th January 2011, 09:35 AM
Hi there

I'm new to Copper, so I was thinking of buying a 1kg bar (maybe even more)? Thinking goes like this, Copper is being used up VERY quick around the world (just like Silver), it has a purpose just like Silver i.e. It can be used for other stuff. So should you buy Copper now as its cheap.

look forward to hearing from you guys/gals

Robert

kregener
15th January 2011, 09:37 AM
http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s167/Kregener/Posting%20Tools/FUNNY.jpg

willie pete
15th January 2011, 09:39 AM
with base metals, I think it's more up to one's own preference, personally I don't own any Cu, not even cookware.. :D ...on another note...Welcome aboard Robert ....and out of curiosity, were you ever on another board? ...BS maybe?

RJB
15th January 2011, 09:43 AM
The premiums are usually astronomical. "Buy" U.S. coins for under spot price and without premiums. A nickel is worth about 6.5 cents in metal. and a pre 1982 penny is worth almost 3 cents a piece.
Here's a coin calculator.
http://www.coinflation.com/coins/basemetal_coin_calculator.html

http://gold-silver.us/forum/other-metals/the-'hoarding-nickels'-thread/

http://gold-silver.us/forum/other-metals/the-copper-penny-thread/

Robert
15th January 2011, 09:46 AM
... whats BS, willie pete? Is BS another forum? In answer to your question, no, this is the 1st Gold/Silver etc forum I've ever been in.

Was hoping to get it really cheap, glad you guys made it clear about Copper, so its a No no.

cedarchopper
15th January 2011, 09:49 AM
If I were to "invest" in copper I would looking to buy it in a useful form (new electrical wire...all gauges, and new copper pipe), and buy it cheap. I see good deals on craigslist all the time. Of course, pre-82 pennies are a good way also...money is a useful form ;]

RJB
15th January 2011, 09:55 AM