PDA

View Full Version : Is this round possibly fake?

dunester
2nd March 2011, 08:34 AM
I am new to buying silver, and I'm not sure of the authenticity of a silver round I have, and am looking for any

helpful advice.

It was described as "Beautiful 1916 1Troy LB .999 Fine Silver Mercury Dime. 1 Troy LB =12 Troy oz or 13.1657 oz

avoisdupois."

The round weighs 373 grams as it should, and is the same dimensions as other troy lb rounds I've seen for sale (3 1/2

inches diameter, 1/4 inch thick). It has a smooth area on the edge with a serial number on it.

The reason I'm wondering if it's fake is that, upon reading more about silver, it seems that it should say .999 on it

somewhere, but it doesn't!

The pictures are of the actual round. It is in a plastic case and the scratches are on the case, the round is perfect

and shines as silver should.

http://i.ebayimg.com/00/$%28KGrHqV,!iUE1NPYvwFBBN%28uRGR5-w~~_12.JPG
http://i.ebayimg.com/00/$%28KGrHqV,!jUE1JBDr%29kcBN%28uRTz%282g~~_12.JPG

Any help will be greatly appreciated :D

SLV^GLD
2nd March 2011, 08:45 AM
A) I have little to no experience with these oversized rounds. That said, if this thing weighs and dimensions the same as a known .999 version then it is most likely all silver. There will always be a question, though.

B) Weight AND purity stamps are hallmarks that should be considered requisite for bullion silver. The lack of these features will impact liquidity and resale value. My suggestion is to sell this to someone else ASAP and buy appropriately marked silver. I would not buy this round from you, if that tells you anything.

dunester
2nd March 2011, 10:35 AM
Thanks for the fast reply & advice :)

Is there anyone out there with experience in large coins/rounds who may have an opinion.

Thanks in advance.

Neuro
2nd March 2011, 10:42 AM