PDA

View Full Version : Martial Arts Anyone?

Buddha
6th March 2011, 10:07 PM
I was just curious if many GSUSers train in or have had any experience with martial arts. I have been kickboxing for about a year now, and have recently started training in karate and judo. I'm not liking the karate too much, I find it kind of impractical but I am fairly new to it. We all know that guns are great for home and personal defense, but the body can also be a formidable weapon.

drafter
6th March 2011, 10:20 PM
I've always wanted to learn but never seem to have the time or a place to learn within a reasonable distance. Looks like a great way to stay in shape anyways.

steyr_m
6th March 2011, 10:21 PM
I took Hapkido for 4 years a few years back. I'd like to get back into it again, but too much on my plate at the moment. Firearms training is more important imho.

skid
6th March 2011, 10:42 PM
Firearms training is more important imho.

Firearm training is a form of martial arts in my opinion. I just took a day of defensive handgun training and a day of defensive shot gun training. It was mostly geared for bear attacks, but would work under any circumstance that requires a lethal response.

Gaillo
6th March 2011, 10:58 PM
2 Years of Iaido/Kendo... and about 6 months of Aikido (both formal training from a "pedigreed" instructor [Sensei]). Kept both up on my own for a few years after that, but lack of a decent instructor (due to a move away from the city) severely limited any growth potential, so I've been relatively inactive in both for several years.

Would love to take it up again (ESPECIALLY the Aikido, with emphasis on Jo Staff...) if I ever again find myself fortunate enough to locate a decent sensei given my rural area lifestyle.

Antonio
6th March 2011, 11:24 PM