PDA

View Full Version : Help on buying silver

ssg10
13th March 2011, 12:46 AM
Hello,

I am pretty new in silver. I have questions and sorry if it is very basic:

1. If I want to buy silver, is it better to buy coins or bar? (let's say I have $10,000 to convert to silver)
2. I found there are many silver coins. Which ones are recommended? Maple leaf, austrian ?
3. Anyone can recommend online dealers with best price and local dealer in Southern California?

Thanks!

1970 silver art
13th March 2011, 08:14 AM
Welcome to GSUS, Ssg10. :)

You can buy gov't minted 1-oz silver bullion such as Silver American Eagles (SAE's) or Canadian Maple Leafs but you will pay a higher premium for them because they are gov't minted and are recognized everywhere. Generally speaking, you can buy 1-oz .999 generic silver bars and rounds for a lower premium than SAE's and Canadian Maple leafs. The best 1-oz .999 generic silver rounds that you can get are the 1-oz Engelhard Prospectors. Engelhard Prospectors may sell a higher premium than regular .999 generic silver but at a lower premium than gov't minted silver coins such as the American Eagle.

As for the 1-oz silver bullion coins such as Australian Koala, Australian Kookaburras, and Britannias, you will pay a much higher premium for those because these are seen as collector type coins.

As far as I know, junk silver (90% silver) will have the lowest premium over spot.

There is an online dealer called American Precious Metals Exchange (APMEX) and it is IMO the best online bullion dealer. The downside to APMEX is the shipping costs can be high especially on small purchases. There is a company called Tulving that will probably offer a lower premium on silver than APMEX but the minimum purchase requirement is steep. I think that you have to buy at least 500 oz's of silver in order to do business with Tulving.

solid
13th March 2011, 08:23 AM
Hi Ssg10, welcome to the forum. Here's my thoughts on your questions..