PDA

View Full Version : CFL Bulb Conspiracy?

lapis
31st March 2011, 11:31 AM
According to this article (http://www.cmn.tv/blog/dirty-cfl-bulbs-big-payoffs-for-electric-companies/),

“Compact Flourescent Lights (CFSs) generate high frequency transients, which, in turn, are on the electrical wires in your home or office. This causes induction disk meters (the meters the electric company reads located on the side of your home) to read inaccurately.”

An electrical engineer by profession, Dave is by no mans a conspiracy theorist, but he continued by telling me that he have never seen one of these meters read on the low side, only the high side. The net effect is that the electric companies can deliver less energy as a result of the use of CFLs, but your meter readings would be higher, which is pure profit to the electric company without the need for a rate increase. Bingo!"

David owns a company called StetzerElectric.com so I don't know how credible this information is, but it sounds plausible. I've never understood the insanity behind pushing these mercury bulbs, but if there's profit to be made from them then it makes more sense.

tekrunner
31st March 2011, 01:34 PM
There is a high pitched noise that emits when I first turn on one of my lamps with a CFL bulb in it. That alone has led me to desire regular incandescent or LED's. Would anyone like to start a GIM thread on the manufacture of old school light bulbs?

TheNocturnalEgyptian
31st March 2011, 02:37 PM
Oh it's a conspiracy alright. Those bulbs produce EMF fields, plain and simple. Electrosensitive people feel sick around them.

And if they break, it's technically a hazmat clean-up job, because of the mercury.

Awoke
31st March 2011, 03:03 PM
They emit mercury vapor even when they are not broken, if I remember correctly.

The shit is poison.

freespirit
31st March 2011, 03:08 PM

The shit is poison.

...and the gov wants you to use them in every light in your house!

tekrunner
31st March 2011, 03:47 PM