PDA

View Full Version : High Silver Prices & Depressed Premiums

BullionStar
25th April 2011, 01:19 AM
Hi All.

I am new to Gold-Silver.us so please be gentle with me!

I am a particularly close watcher of Silver (and Gold) premiums and how they fluctuate as I believe they are a very good indicator of physical supply/demand. It seems to me that the current high prices are having the effect of pushing down premiums somewhat.

I did an expermiment with some 1 ounce Silver bars. Selling through eBay in the UK at the end of March, we achieved 15% better premiums, with Silver at $36 (£23), than we are getting now, with silver around $49 (£29)

I wonder if this is a case of physical buyers simply being put off by higher prices, or if it is a case of psycological price points being reached.

I wondered if anyone out there has any insights?

Serpo
25th April 2011, 01:24 AM
Hi and Welcome.....

Not sure most people around here dont like to sell much...hahaha,

it is interesting what you are talking about,please explain in more detail.

cheers....

SLV^GLD
25th April 2011, 06:18 AM
Based on my observations in the past, when silver was not displaying its current degree of volatility, premiums flexed with strong moves in either direction. The longer spot went sideways the higher premiums went. During strong moves in either direction premiums were depressed. I attributed this behavior to supply and demand. During strong moves supply increased because there was more selling than buying. During the sideways intervals there was more buying than selling and inventories would run lower.

These observations were made in brick and mortar coin shops and specific eBay sellers.

Sparky
25th April 2011, 07:09 AM
What was your average premium at $36 and $49?

SLV^GLD
25th April 2011, 07:25 AM