PDA

View Full Version : The LINUX Thread!

sirgonzo420
2nd August 2011, 12:20 PM
This thread has been a long time coming for me.

I've been using linux daily for several years (mostly ubuntu or ubuntu variations), but I still don't know a whole hell of a lot about it.

Who else here uses it?

Which distro(s)?

Any helpful commands, tips and tricks, etc?

Perhaps after some discussion with my beloved fellow GSUSers, I will begin to get over my perpetual linux noobness. ;D

Ares
2nd August 2011, 12:36 PM
This thread has been a long time coming for me.

I've been using linux daily for several years (mostly ubuntu or ubuntu variations), but I still don't know a whole hell of a lot about it.

Who else here uses it?

Which distro(s)?

Any helpful commands, tips and tricks, etc?

Perhaps after some discussion with my beloved fellow GSUSers, I will begin to get over my perpetual linux noobness. ;D

I started out with Mandrake, then moved to Red Hat. Have used Ubuntu and SuSe over the years. I've stayed with Windows only because I game.

Gaillo
2nd August 2011, 12:38 PM
Linux "operations" ;D

http://main.makeuseoflimited.netdna-cdn.com/tech-fun/wp-content/uploads/2008/10/linux-positions.png

http://picture.funnycorner.net/funny-pictures/5522/Linux.jpg

monty
2nd August 2011, 02:58 PM
I have been using Linux since the mid 1990's . I started with Debian on an old 386SX with one megabyte of ram. Currently I am using Kubuntu Lucid Lynx 10.04
I downloaded the original install for my first system on floppies and installed it from the floppies. It was many months before I was able to do much with my computer. But I didn't give up. Eventually I managed to get the X window installed and working. Getting a sound card to work was not an easy task. There was almost no support of drivers written for sound and video cards. I learned to do tcp/ip networking and even managed to get a wireless network card working with ndis-wrapper after about 3 days of reading and trying this and that.