PDA

View Full Version : OT - Since it's summer time, don't fricken over heat your car

General of Darkness
22nd July 2012, 02:17 PM
This is more of a preventative thread. I know we have some single mom's on the board and a few girly men :) but I'd hate for you guys to get stuck on the side of the road when you don't have to. Plus dealing with this type of crap is a pain in the ass.

First off, I AM NOT A MECHANIC, but I do have common sense. And yesterday going to dog training I have to go north through Valencia CA which it probably 500 feet above sea level and during the summer time it's about 95 degrees at 10AM and immediately goes from 500 feet up a grade to about 3,000 feet in the course of 2 miles. Every damn time, there's people on the side of the road that have over heated their motor. If I see kids with them I ALWAYS stop and give them some water.

Here's a simple video that discusses WHY this happens. These items you can simply addressed by either doing it yourself, which is easy, or having a mechanic do it, even if you don't have to do.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqmNWSTqizw

I'll post a video of what I'm going to have to address because I noticed that yesterday my diesel was getting hotter than I wanted, and I suspected that with close to 120K miles it's probably my clutch fan.

General of Darkness
22nd July 2012, 02:20 PM
Here's something I noticed that I'm going to have fixed this week. My clutch fan is close to being done. That's why my temperatures are higher than normal.

FYI - Some preventative maintenance goes a MASSIVELY long way, not just in you safety, but in your pocketbook.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ldGtdJB3fvM

zap
22nd July 2012, 03:39 PM
LOL Thanks General since I have GMC 2002, I will go out and check the fan clutch, it is my thrasher truck, over the grade 4 times a day, at least If I could get to the top I can coast down.;)