PDA

View Full Version : Mercury Dime Score: Price Check Needed

SLV^GLD
27th July 2012, 05:21 AM
I made a hell of a score in an online trade. The trade was for completely unrelated hobby materials and the other guy had some Mercury Dimes and some various cents he was looking to get rid of. He had no clue the value of them and neither did I except the melt value. I gave him an honest melt value and told him I had no interest in numismatic value.

We based the trade on these 20 dimes being worth about $40.

Well, each dime is cardboard flip holstered with a date and a grade. I am assuming the grades are correct, they appear to be but I'm no expert in these matters.

I have the following dates/grades:

1921/vg x1
1921 (well worn) x2
1921-D/g x3
1924/vf-xf x1
1926/xf x1
1926-S/g x1
1926-S/f x1
1930-S/f/g+/vg x3
1931-D/g x2
1940-S/au x1
1941/bu x2
1942/bu x1
1945/?? x1

My understanding is the 1921 and 1921-D are worth quite a bit and the 1926 are not cheap. The rest I think may be worth a shade over melt but I'm not sure. I'm more interested in trading these in for a bigger stack of dimes than keeping them for numismatic value. I'd much rather someone who cares about such thing have them. that said, I don't wanna let them go for cheaper than i have to.

Any input is appreciated.

madfranks
27th July 2012, 08:09 AM
What a score!!! According to the PCGS price guide:

http://www.pcgs.com/Prices/PriceGuideDetail.aspx?MS=1&PR=1&SP=1&c=703&title=Mercury+Dime

The 1921's in good (G-4) condition (good = Slightly worn rims, flat detail, peripheral lettering nearly full) are worth $50 a piece, the 1921-D in good (G-4) condition is worth $65, and the 1926-S is worth about $14. Paying $2 bucks each is quite the score!

madfranks
27th July 2012, 08:12 AM
Also, to add, the 1942 merc dimes are very common, so even if your BU 1942 would grade to a MS-63 "gem" state, it would only be worth $11. But since they're so common I doubt anyone would actually buy it for that.

SLV^GLD