PDA

View Full Version : 3D Printers, Meet Othermill: A CNC machine for your home office... V

Ponce
4th June 2013, 10:26 AM
As a X machinist I appreciate something like this.
=============================================

← Hundreds of Gunowners Show up in Temple, TX with Loaded Guns At the “Come and Take it” MarchCop Fired After Dash Cam Video Shows him Running Over Man for Not Wearing Seat Belt →3D Printers, Meet Othermill: A CNC machine for your home office
Posted on June 4, 2013 by Scott
Guns.com

3D printing may be Guns.com’s not so private obsession but even fanboys and girls forward thinkers like us have to admit, the technology faces some serious hurdles in the short game. Cost prohibitive, the purely additive process means that when it comes to home cooking, the chef’s ingredients are limited to plastics, plastics and plastics (and then, not quite the Nylon 6 hybrid we learned to love back in the 80s either), while, for many gunowners, the thought of a plastic barrel is still just a bit too much.
Today, the CNC (Computer Numerical Control) milling process is responsible for chiseling out most gun parts for most guns—frame, barrel, firing pin, internal components, all cut down from a hunk of metal by the spinning bit of a CNC machine. Now what if that was something you could set up next to your home computer? Well, a San Francisco based R&D firm may have just answered your prayers and not even really know it.

Otherfab, a San Francisco based R&D firm under the eponymous Otherlab, launched a Kickstarter campaign May 5 to fund the production of “a portable, computer controlled, 3-axis mill that is

Overhead view of Othermill.