PDA

View Full Version : Poor mans, garbage can beer #2

Libertytree
12th November 2013, 09:40 AM
This is my second batch of making 20+ gallons with this system. My goal is to make large batches for as cheap as possible, nothing fancy, just very drinkable everyday beer. That's not to say I want to throw a bunch of ingredients together and call it beer, I want quality that's as good or better than Bud but at 1/4th the price, $5 a case. I'm still learning and tweaking ingredients and production methods but I'm almost there or at least well on my way.

I did some different things for this batch vs the last one. I used 3 different types of hops, #1 is that I used 4oz Northern Brewer hops as my primary bittering hops, boiled for 1 hour. #2, I combined 4oz of Tettnang and Hallertau hops/2oz each and put them in the boil for the last 20 mins of the boil, those hops are for flavor and aroma but add some bittering too. The last batch I only used Northern Brewer hops but found out that the old school Budweiser also used the Tettnang and Hallertau hops and I wanted to experiment with my new found hops knowledge. It's mind blowing all the info on hops there is.

The other thing I added was the use of a hydrometer, the last batch I think I made a newbie mistake by assuming the fermentation had finished when it had not and I bottled too early. Brew Tech clued me in and prompted me to buy the hydrometer, it'll let me know accurately when its finished fermenting as well as let me know what the alcohol content is. The last batch was good but this batch will hopefully be even better. Here's the complete recipe.

12lbs Amber liquid malt extract
4oz Northern Brewer hops
2oz Tettnang hops
2oz Hallertau hops
20 cups sugar
55gms Safale s-04 yeast
21 gals total
Hydrometer reading of 1.040

Come bottling day I'll add 1/2 cup sugar per 5 gals for priming.