Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: OK, school me on HAM radios that can broadcast

Thanks
    Thanked 2,782 Times in 1,378 Posts

OK, school me on HAM radios that can broadcast

Since I'm working from home today, I've been able to post more and read more on GSUS.

Here's what I've noticed. We are completely unprepared for a .gov shut down of "standard" communications. Being that I work in the IT field I know for a fact that it's duable, it might take time, i.e. court orders etc, or there might be an agreement and it just happens.

After viewing Ponce's thread on the subject I thought I'd place some requirements, and I don't even know if this exists.

Here would be my requirements, and I'm not even sure if this is enough

1 - Am/Fm Radio
    2 - HAM frequencies - 100's of miles
    3 - The ability to broadcast - 100's miles
    4 - Portable
    5 - Under 20 lbs
    Voltaire: "To find out who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize

Thanks
    Thanked 2,058 Times in 1,395 Posts

Re: OK, school me on HAM radios that can broadcast

QST magazine.
    http://www.arrl.org/qst

they're the magazine for the amateur radio club. comes out once a month.

lots of how-to articles, plus more advanced articles about EMI shielding, interference. most of the hams i've known were also electrical engineers.

Nuts n Volts, if you can find it, to buy gear -
    http://www.nutsvolts.com/

by "it" i mean the print magazine. loads of ads by hams. you used to be able to get them at surplus electronics stores.

speaking of surplus electronics stores -
    Halted
    http://www.halted.com/

Alltronics
    http://www.alltronics.com/

Wierd Stuff Warehouse
    http://www.weirdstuff.com/

they sell parts and complete radios. also, lots of the customers & people who work there are hams.
    Retired Director Morris Waxler says the FDA did not do their job for 15 years - and is not now.

HelpStopLASIK.com

Thanks
    Thanked 2,080 Times in 1,611 Posts