PDA

View Full Version : Back Pain from weight lifting

skid
23rd March 2011, 07:17 PM
I recently started lifting weights again regularly in January. I've worked my way up to some pretty good weight levels. I have recently developed back pain as a result of doing squats and deadlifts without a weight belt. I've read that it is better do do squats/deadlifts without the belt to build up the torso muscles. However, now i'm to the point of discomfort throughout the day. My last workout I was squatting 270 + bar for 8 reps, however i needed to wear a belt.
I'm to the point of getting some real gains, but my back is killing me. I don't want to stop but i will have to take some time off. Anybody know some stretches etc. for relieving back pain??

BrewTech
23rd March 2011, 07:32 PM
The little lady told me to tell you to lighten up on the weight.

HTH...

:)

Kali
23rd March 2011, 07:59 PM
Unless you have some more serious back issue going on, you're form on deadlifts is wrong.

Proper form deadlifts do no hurt. You can get pretty sore back there if you are lifting max weight though.

Find some videos on youtube with proper form and once your back starts feeling better practice.

Even with proper form though, like I said, if you're maxing out and hitting new max's you will be sore.

That's how I see it.

skid
23rd March 2011, 09:26 PM
Unless you have some more serious back issue going on, you're form on deadlifts is wrong.

Proper form deadlifts do no hurt. You can get pretty sore back there if you are lifting max weight though.

Find some videos on youtube with proper form and once your back starts feeling better practice.

Even with proper form though, like I said, if you're maxing out and hitting new max's you will be sore.

That's how I see it.

It was the squats that triggered it, but the deadlifts aren't helping either. Funny thing is it didn't hurt whan i was exercising, but only afterwards when I cool off. It does feel better when I wear a belt though...

skid